a-midsummerIn my last post I shared my love for fairies, so it should be no surprise that one of my favorite Shakespeare plays would be A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

John Anster Fitzgerald, Titania and the Changeling A Midsummer Night_s Dream

The play is beautiful and magical, I love the costumes. I remember the first time I saw it, I think my eyes must have been huge and my mouth agape in wonder and amusement, it was spectacular, it was unlike anything i’d ever seen before! I was enthralled and obsessed with this play from then on. I couldn’t get enough. I was the oddball, at that time The Lion King had just come out in theater’s and all the kids my age were going nuts for that movie, seeing it hundreds of times, and there i’d come along talking about this awesome Shakespeare play I saw with fairies in it!

titania2

And then 1999 came along and Michelle Pfeiffer starred in the movie version. I was in awe all over again.

ea99574e590bdcd540a8135d4ee1a6f5--fairy-quotes-fairies-garden

 

It was because of A Midsummer Night’s Dream that I became a fan of William Shakespeare. I have not only seen the play on stage, watched the movie countless times and of course read the play a bazillion and ten times, it still remains my all time favorite work of Shakespeare’s.

 

946ec23165656f55118e8a9fcc37ccb1--dream-act-midsummer-nights-dream

 

Leave a Reply

